::News:: Dogara, Jibrin and others in race for the Speakership position

In the House of Representatives, six members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have indicated interest for the position of House Speaker in the 8th Assembly.

The Speaker, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, has opted out
of the legislature to contest the governorship of his home state, Sokoto.

The six federal lawmakers vying for the House speakership position are Hon. Abdulmumin Jibrin from Kano (North West), Yakubu Dogara from Bauchi (North East), Femi Gbajabiamila from Lagos (South West), Mohammed Monguno from Borno (North East), Pally Iriase from Edo State
(South South) and Israel Ajibola Famurewa from Osun State (South West).

Following the March 28 Presidential and National Assembly elections, the six federal lawmakers, all of whom are returning to the House, won their re-election bids under the APC, which has won majority seats at both the House and the Senate.

Jibrin is the current Chairman, House Committee on Finance while Gbajabiamila is the House Minority Leader. Dogara is Chairman, House Services and Welfare Committee just as Monguno is Chairman House Committee on Agriculture. Iriase is Deputy Chairman House Committee on Legislative Outreach.

Monguno, like Dogara, has been in the House since 2007, while Jibrin, Iriase and Famurewa first came to the House in 2011. But Gbajabiamila has been in the House since 2003.

Jibrin will declare his speakership ambition in Abuja today. (Source:www.nairaland.com)

Posted in Home

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: